All California voters to receive mail ballots in every election

SAN FRANCISCO (KRON) – California on Monday officially became a vote-by-mail state.

Gov. Gavin Newsom signed AB-37 authored by Assemblymember Marc Berman (D-Menlo Park), permanently requiring a vote-by-mail ballot to be mailed to every active registered voter in the state.

The practice of sending vote-by-mail ballots to every registered voter first began in California 2020, and was extended through 2021, as a safety measure to counteract pandemic-related disruptions and resulted in record voter participation, according to a state press release.

“As states across our country continue to enact undemocratic voter suppression laws, California is increasing voter access, expanding voting options and bolstering elections integrity and transparency,” said Governor Newsom. “Last year we took unprecedented steps to ensure all voters had the opportunity to cast a ballot during the pandemic and today we are making those measures permanent after record-breaking participation in the 2020 presidential election. I extend my thanks to Assembly Elections Committee Chair Assemblymember Marc Berman for his leadership on this issue.”

A full list of the bills signed by the Governor is below:

AB 37 by Assemblymember Marc Berman (D-Menlo Park) – Elections: vote by mail ballots.
AB 319 by Assemblymember Suzette Valladares (R-Santa Clarita) – Political Reform Act of 1974: contributions: foreign governments or principals.
AB 796 by Assemblymember Marc Berman (D-Menlo Park) – Voter registration: California New Motor Voter Program.
AB 1367 by Assemblymember Evan Low (D-Campbell) – Political Reform Act of 1974: committee accounts and campaign funds.
AB 1495 by Assemblymember Luz Rivas (D-San Fernando Valley) – Vacancy elections.
AB 1590 by Committee on Elections – Political Reform Act of 1974.
SB 35 by Senator Tom Umberg (D-Santa Ana) – Elections.
SB 503 by Senator Josh Becker (D-Menlo Park) – Voting: ballots and signature verification. 
SB 594 by Senator Steve Glazer (D-Contra Costa) – Elections: redistricting.
SB 686 by Senator Steve Glazer (D-Contra Costa) – Campaign disclosure: limited liability companies.

Categorized as Music

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.